top of page

Museums Aren't Boring

So, I went to a museum on the ETSU campus not long ago - the Reece Museum. Based on my experiences involving museums in the past, I was not looking forward to going in and looking around for my honors class. I really thought it was going to be boring like previous ones I've trudged through, but I was very wrong. I thoroughly enjoyed both of the exhibitions that the museum had to offer.

The Best of Tennessee Craft exhibit really, really made me want to like.. take some of the crafts and put them in my house, which says enough. I thought that the majority of these handmade crafts were gorgeous. I wish they weren't so expensive. The table I wanted was $12,000. Bummer.

The FL3TCH3R exhibit was drop-dead amazing. It really did that cliché thing to me, where you leave a place of importance in very deep thought. It did that. There were so many beautiful creations, and they spoke so loudly to me, especially this one about rape culture. It really made its statement I believe.

All of these artists are brilliant and truly talented at what they do. I appreciate art so much, and what it can do, and museums preserve these precious gems. (Some) museums are anything but boring.

bottom of page